Andrzej Sapkowski


The Last Wish

The Last Wish

Product details:

• Paperback: 288 pages

• Publisher: Gollancz (14 Feb. 2008)

• Language: English

• ISBN-10: 0575082445

• ISBN-13: 978-0575082441

• Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.3 x 19.7 cm


The Last Wish is the first book in Andrzej Sapkowski's Witcher series in terms of internal chronology, although the original Polish edition was published in 1993, after The Sword of Destiny. Some of the individual short stories were first published in the Fantastyka magazine or in the Wiedźmin short story collection (the first collection of Sapkowski's stories, out of print and now obsolete; all short stories were later collected in The Last Wish, Sword of Destiny and Something Ends, Something Begins) and as such were the first witcher stories published.

The anthology employs the story within a story framework and contains seven main short stories.

Geralt, after having been injured in battle, rests in a temple of Melitele inEllander. During that time he has flashbacks to recent events in his life — each of which forms a story of its own.

- The Voice of Reason (framing story)

- The Witcher

- A Grain of Truth

- The Lesser Evil

- A Question of Price

- The Edge of the World

- The Last Wish

Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually comes to realise that while some of his quarry are unremittingly vile, vicious grotesques, others are the victims of sin, evil or simple naivety.

The Last Wish Quotes >>>>>

The Last Wish Summary >>>>>

The Witcher Stories:

- The Last Wish

- Sword of Destiny

The Saga:

- Blood of Elves

- Time of Contempt

- Baptism of Fire

- The Tower of the Swallow

-The Lady of the Lake

Stand-alone novels:

- Season of Storms